add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Audio noob, need help

Ragingboar

6 months ago

I know what the different channels mean. I assume there's more to speakers than that, if someone could give a basic overview of what I should be looking for concerning speakers, it would be helpful.

Comments

• 6 months ago
  • 1 point

What kind of setup are you hoping for? Theater, gaming, basic workstation?

• 6 months ago
  • 2 points

Gaming setup.

• 6 months ago
  • 1 point

Cool. I'm no pro, but the more we know about what you want the better we can help you pick out the perfect setup.

The gamers I know use headphones. It's easier to communicate in a team setting when your mic isn't picking up everything. That's also the most economical solution. You can get a high end set of headphones for a few hundred dollars (don't know what currency you use).

Depending on how much you want your windows to shake, and how many ports your PC has, and how big your budget it, you could go for 2, 2.1, or 5.1 setups. With a dedicated sound system, you could do even more, but that's... expensive.