add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

ryzen 5 3600 vs ryzen 5 3700x

ianini
  • 1 month ago

hi guys

any of you expert video editors here have an opinion on the processors in title. ryzen 5 3600 is 183 eurs ryzen 5 3700x is 323 euros.

ie. is the 140 euro difference, nearly double worth paying for the performance gains when editing 4k video in davinci resolve 16 free version. Im not a professional and are just for my own personal projects.

anybody know what sort of performance gains one could expect for a 10 minute 4k video.

Thanks

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

2700X. Probably costs less then 3600, but has same amount of cores and threads as 3700X. Not as good as 3700X,better than 3600(in editing ). Well usually anyways.

That said,in Davinchi Resolve while CPU isn't completely irelevant, GPU matters much more than a CPU.

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point

here in EU the 2700x is around the same price as the 3600. yes the cores definately make a difference in video editing. hadn't thought about the 2700x ill check that out. to say the gpu matters much more than the cpu in davincina isn't quite true as it very much depends on what you doing. ie transcoding from one video format/compression to another depends very much on the cpu ie h264 to h265 etc. but definately the grafics card is used much for fx in davinci than say premier.. im thinking the performance gain for the 3700x at nearly twice the price probable isnt worth it . but ill investigate your suggetion of the 2700x

• 1 month ago
  • 1 point