add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Best voltage for i7-9700k Overclocked to 4.0ghz? Does low voltage cause stuttering?

ChayHawk
  • 3 months ago

Current parts list if needed: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/YGxbTC

Hi, I am new to overclocking, I never overclocked my 6700k, but I wanted to overclock my 9700k a little to at least get it to my 6700k base clock speed of 4.0ghz. I went into the ASUS UEFI Bios and changed the BCLK Frequency to 111.1 to get it to an even 4.0ghz speed, but I am unsure if i should change the voltage or leave it on auto? Will leaving it on auto be ok? I havent changed any other settings as far as i remember, I reset everything to its factory settings. I have been playing metro exodus, I just bought it a few days ago and have been getting stuttering here and there, random massive frame drops for like 1 second. Sometimes they are just like 10 or 15 frames (vsync on full).

I had the CPU clock at 4.9 ghz, and it was happening every maybe 15/20 minutes, sometimes it wouldnt happen for like 30 or 40. Mainly seemed like when it was loading a new area or something it would stutter. I didnt modify the voltages at all though, just left it on auto for that OC job too, but temps were fine, it was about ~48-57C while playing, and it didnt get higher than that even after 5 hours of playtime. So overheating cant be the issue. Also, Payday 2 and GTA 5 stutter sometimes as well, as well as some mouse input lag, so its not just metro. This all happened after upgrading from my Maximus VIII Hero Alpha and i7-6700k. Now I have the i7-9700k and the Maximus XI Hero.